The 25th anniversary of the euro

In 1992, the 12 Member States of the European Union signed the Maastricht Treaty, cementing their decision to create a common currency. Twenty-five years later, the euro is used by 340 million people in 19 countries, which together make up the euro area. To mark this anniversary, the Banque de France has compiled a series of documents looking back at the remarkable achievement that is the euro - our currency and that of all the citizens of the euro area.

Updated on: 05/23/2019 12:01