Under EMIR, the colleges that supervise central counterparties (CCPs) must include the European Securities and Markets Authority (ESMA), the central banks of issue of the currency used by the CCP, and any competent EU national authority with a direct interest in the smooth operation of the CCP (for example, the authorities that supervise the main participating banks).

In 2023, LCH SA's College was made up of 19 national authorities from 11 jurisdictions. Colleges ensure the exchange of information between authorities. They also have the power to validate important decisions made by CCPs that could have cross-border effects.

List of members of the EMIR Supervisory College (as at 02/03/2023):

  • AT – Austrian Central Bank (Oesterreichische Nationalbank)
  • AT – Financial Market Authority
  • BE – Autorité des services et marchés financiers (FSMA)
  • BE – Banque Nationale de Belgique
  • DE – Bundesanstalt für Finanzdienstleistungsaufsicht (BaFin)
  • DE – Deutsche Bundesbank (DB)
  • DE – Exchange Supervisory Authority of the State of Berlin
  • ES – Banco de España
  • ES – Comision Nacional de Valores y Mercados (CNVM)
  • FR – Autorité de contrôle prudentiel et de résolution (ACPR)
  • FR – Autorité des marchés financiers (AMF)
  • FR – Banque de France
  • IR – Central Bank of Ireland
  • IT – Banca d’Italia
  • IT – Consob
  • LU – Commission de Surveillance sur Secteur Financier (CSSF)
  • NL – De Nederlandsche Bank
  • NL – Netherlands Authority for Financial Markets (AFM)
  • NR – Finanstilsynet
  • NR – Norges Bank
  • PT – Comissao do Mercado de Valores Mobiliarios (CMVM)
  • EU – European Securities and Markets Authority (ESMA)
  • EU –  European Central Bank (Single Supervisory Mechanism)

Updated on 7 November 2023